A Different Kind of Dance Post

As many of you know, I’ve started a fairly new job at Joy of Motion Dance Center. I was so excited to finally incorporate my passion for dance into my profession, but also nervous that I would view anything related to dance as work. To an extent, I’ve found that to be true. I don’t take as many dance classes and I’ve only been to a few performances since I started in April. I’ve hardly been blogging. I guess my explanation for this would be that I’m looking for balance in my life. I was so used to doing something completely unrelated to dance at my previous jobs that taking a class or watching a performance was a breath of fresh air. Now, it’s just another day at the office.

This may sound like I’m complaining, but it’s quite the opposite. Now that I’m in the swing of things, I can’t imagine why I hadn’t pursued this dream sooner. I can’t imagine why I had settled for a job that paid more, but gave me so much less to look forward to. I don’t know why I was suddenly compelled to write this post (it’s 3am on a Friday night and honestly, I haven’t been drinking!), and I’m sure my friends will make fun of me for writing this, but just had to share. As my former boss Brita told me, “Love what you do and you’ll never have to work another day in your life.” Or maybe that’s a Confucius quote? Keep dancing and dreaming!

About Cecile
Cecile Oreste is the Marketing and Public Relations Manager at Joy of Motion Dance Center and a Board Member of Dana Tai Soon Burgess Dance Company. Follow her on Twitter @cecileoreste.

4 Responses to A Different Kind of Dance Post

  1. I know the feeling. All of my work and so much of my “social” life is dance-related which honestly I love…most of the time. But, you do need some balance which means sometimes going to see a action movie with my husband instead of catching the dance concert that weekend I was planning to go see. I also haven’t been blogging as much these past few months, but I am hoping to get back to it when my Fall schedule begins. Maybe you will too. :)

  2. Emma Dozier says:

    Yay Cecile and Angella! I am inspired by you both :)

  3. Pingback: Shameless Plug: Dance Project and Motion Expressions Concert 2011 « danceDC

  4. Cecile, reading through some older posts on your blog as I leap back into the DC dance scene. So inspired by you and the other artists commenting and featured on your blog! Even more amazing to me, I now know these people: taking classes or rehearsing with them. It’s been thrilling to discover how welcoming and personal the DC area dance community is, and I look forward to continuing to build relationships and artistic capacity.

    Thank you for providing this great source of information for the dance community, and to you and other DC dance professionals for serving as an inspiring reminder that it is possible (and preferred) to do what you love.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

