6th Way to Redefine Yourself: Kukuwa Dance Workout with Fatima at Joy of Motion/Atlas

Kukuwa Dance WorkoutFor day six of my 10 day dance challenge, I was back at Joy of Motion/Atlas for Kukuwa Dance Workout with Fatima Senghore. I didn’t realize until I sat down to write this post that Kukuwa is named after African dance performer and choreographer Kukuwa Nuamah. Kukuwa Dance Workout combines African and Caribbean dance moves into a low impact, high energy class. As Fatima noted at the beginning of class, it is an aerobics class so the focus is on getting your heart rate up and building your stamina – not learning choreography.

From start to finish, Kukuwa Dance Workout is exactly what it promises to be – a workout. Some of the moves that have me in pain today include getting low while shaking your hips and circling your fully extended arms while moving forward then pushing them back while stepping back. I found myself taking frequent water breaks during the class, but Fatima was going strong the entire time. I loved the energy she brought to the class. It was really motivating and makes me want to work out a lot so I can have the stamina (and toned arms) that she does. If taking this class on a regular basis doesn’t help me shed some pounds, I don’t know what will. If you’re looking for an incredible workout, definitely check out Kukuwa.

About Cecile
Cecile Oreste is an arts marketing and public relations professional living in New York City. Follow her on Twitter @cecileoreste.

3 Responses to 6th Way to Redefine Yourself: Kukuwa Dance Workout with Fatima at Joy of Motion/Atlas

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention 6th Way to Redefine Yourself: Kukuwa Dance Workout with Fatima at Joy of Motion/Atlas « danceDC -- Topsy.com

  2. Staci says:

    Kukuwa Dance Workout with Fatima is the real deal! It never gets boring and it’s amazing that a human can actually have that kind of stamina. Fatima inspires me to push even harder. Hats off to you Fatima for being such an inspiring and fun teacher and hats off to you Cecile for trying Kukuwa Dance Workout.

Leave a Reply

