9th Way to Redefine Yourself: Modern with Helanius at Joy of Motion/Friendship Heights

modern danceFor day nine of my 10 day dance challenge, I was at Joy of Motion/Friendship Heights for modern with Helanius Wilkins. I met Helanius a few months back when I interviewed him for danceDC so was excited to take his low intermediate level class. He started the class with plenty of exercises to warm up our feet. Before moving into across the floor exercises, he taught a short combination that had us constantly changing directions. I was extremely confused when he first showed it, but I think I finally had it down by the last time we did it in groups.

One of the across the floor exercises that stood out in my mind included a cart-wheel. I can’t remember the last time I had done one so was happy to give it a try. I thought we were doing another short across the floor exercise, but it turned into a longer combination that we did in smaller groups of three or four. The combination also included lots of changes in directions like the short combo from earlier in the class. I liked that the choreography traveled across the floor and used the whole space. Helanius also had such a pleasant demeanor while teaching class. I really appreciated that. If you’re looking to learn from a positive role model and also to take a fun, modern class, I hope you’ll try one of Helanius’ classes.

About Cecile
Cecile Oreste is an arts marketing and public relations professional living in New York City. Follow her on Twitter @cecileoreste.

One Response to 9th Way to Redefine Yourself: Modern with Helanius at Joy of Motion/Friendship Heights

  1. Pingback: danceDC Weekend Event Guide 2/19-2/20 « danceDC

Leave a Reply

