10th Way to Redefine Yourself: Hip Hop with Gary at Joy of Motion/Friendship Heights

Hip Hop with Gary Beauford

Liz, Gary and Cecile. Thanks for taking the pic, Karen!

Last night, I was at Joy of Motion/Friendship Heights for hip hop with Gary Beauford. I’ve taken his class before, but it was my birthday and the last day of my 10 day dance challenge so I decided to treat myself. The first time I took class with Gary was actually his last class with Culture Shock DC. I had also seen his choreography when his company GnC Crew performed at the DCypher show last year.

The combination Gary taught for his last class was choreo to Total’s “What About Us?” Remember that song? I think my brain had reached its mental capacity so I had a hard time picking up the routine, but the select groups he picked at the end had it down. They looked dope! He also singled out one of his students who also trains with Future Shock/Culture Shock to do the combination one last time. She did great.

About 30 dancers, including my friends Liz and Karen, came to last night’s class. Gary’s class is usually pretty crowded, but this was the most crowded I’ve ever seen it. It was probably because he announced on Twitter and Facebook that this would be his last class at Joy of Motion for almost a year. He’s leaving on Saturday to go on tour with UniverSoul Circus. Congrats on the gig, Gary! It’s sad that he won’t be here for most of 2011, but he’s hoping that Kevin Simon of GnC Crew and Culture Shock DC will be able to take over the class in his absence. He’ll be conducting the class the same way Gary did. Three weeks learning the same routine so you can really get something out of class and get your training on. It’s a bitter sweet ending to my 10 day dance challenge as I’ll miss taking class with Gary, but I’m happy to have been inspired by his creativity and wish him the best of luck.

About Cecile
Cecile Oreste is an arts marketing and public relations professional living in New York City. Follow her on Twitter @cecileoreste.

Leave a Reply

