Capital Funk and Capitol Movement

I’ve been hard at work at Joy of Motion Dance Center so haven’t had the chance to write as much as I would like to. Don’t be mistaken though! I am still taking class and attending dance performances all over the area. Last month, I cheered on Capital Funk at their 4th annual hip hop showcase Funk Academy. And last weekend, I was in the back row of The Kennedy Center’s Terrace Theater in awe of the amazing dancers of Capitol Movement. I thought it would be fun to do a side by side comparison to show you how diverse the DC dance scene really is. I keep telling you. There really is something for everyone.

Company & Concert Capital Funk: Funk Academy Capitol Movement Project: Layers
Performance Date Saturday, April 16, 2011 Saturday, May 14, 2011
Venue Lisner Auditorium, George Washington University Terrace Theater, The Kennedy Center
Ticket Price $10-$15 $60
What You Missed A showcase of hip hop artists including dancers, rappers, spoken word artists, singers and beatboxers A work in progress exploring the dynamics of the human experience through diverse styles of dance
What Made Me Smile Capital Funk performed two medleys. The opening number included Janet Jackson’s Pleasure Principle. The final number ended with Jordan Knight’s Give It To You! I’ve been to several shows at The Kennedy Center, but this was the liveliest crowd I’ve ever seen. I couldn’t help but smile at the loud cheering, whistling and clapping.
What I Could Have Used Less Of The MCs. They were funny, but made the program longer than necessary. Strobe lights and on stage bedroom scenes. A couple numbers were guilty of using these ‘effects.’
What I Would Like To Have Seen More Of Capital Funk! I was surprised that they only performed twice. I came to see you all dance : ) The Pre-Professional Company. They performed what I thought was the best hip hop piece of the night (choreographed by Luam).
What Made The Crowd Go Wild Culture Shock DC’s number during the second act of the show. When the dancers went back to their seats in the audience, their fellow performers were literally bowing as if to say ‘we’re not worthy.’ The Long Walk, a duet choreographed by Fidel Garcia and Stephanie Jojokian. People were really giving it up for one of the leads. She was preggers! The final number Salvation also ended the show on a high note.
What Else I want to give a shout out to the West Springfield Dance Team. Their Matrix inspired routine was scary, but sick. Holler at Joy of Motion Dance Center faculty members Ashley White and Sarah Mikels. You inspire me on stage and in the studio!
About Cecile
Cecile Oreste is an arts marketing and public relations professional living in New York City. Follow her on Twitter @cecileoreste.

Leave a Reply

