Getting Personal with EDT Director Helanius J. Wilkins

From Helanius J. Wilkins, Founder & Artistic Director

When I founded EDGEWORKS Dance Theater, I had only a dream and a gut feeling telling me that this was what I needed to do. I planted my feet firmly onto the ground and began the work – the work that would lead to, and is, the journey of EDGEWORKS. Back then I wasn’t so concerned with the future. I was more focused on creating the moments that would give way to building a foundation and shedding light on the possibilities of a future. It is now 10 years later.

Helanius J. WilkinsEDGEWORKS Dance Theater’s success and ability to make a positive impact on communities through dance is the result of dreaming, and also actively doing. From the start, I envisioned an organization with a vision and mission that would extend far beyond dance studios and stage performances. I envisioned an organization that would be built upon the strength of forming solid community bonds, and creating opportunities for collaboration. After experiencing collaborations, and in some cases continuing to, with organizations such as American Dance Institute, Joy of Motion Dance Center, Miriam’s Kitchen, and Us Helping Us as well as with numerous artists and supporters, makes it hard to imagine EDGEWORKS without collaborations.

On the heels of our first gala, RED, HOT & RIOT, I am excited to have an opportunity to celebrate our wonderful accomplishments. I am even more excited to launch a new phase in our journey of collaborating and developing meaningful partnerships to continue the work. This, I believe, is the only way the work can continue – by building community.

I hope you’ll join us for RED, HOT & RIOT, taking place this Thursday, May 5th at Woolly Mammoth Theatre! Join us for a sizzling evening to celebrate 10 strong years while collaborating with us to keep our mission in motion. Click Here for more details and to purchase tickets!

About Cecile
Cecile Oreste is a strategic communications professional living in Los Angeles.

Leave a comment